Electricity prices and bills

A price per kilowatt-hour and a monthly account bill answer different questions. The bill also reflects how much electricity was used.

Refine this comparison

United States Bill per account · May 2026 dollars

$211

dollars per account per month; constant 2026-09 dollars August 2026 · Preliminary

Calculated from U.S. Energy Information Administration; U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics CPI-U (American Default Research calculation) state data.

Choose another place under “Refine this comparison” to compare the same data.

Change, August 2025 to August 2026

+$14.67 (+7.49%)

Amounts are in May 2026 dollars, adjusted using national CPI-U.

Changes over time

Bill per account · May 2026 dollars in the United States rose 7.49% from August 2025

dollars per account per month; constant 2026-09 dollars · January 2007 to August 2026 · Preliminary

Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration; U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics CPI-U (American Default Research calculation) American Default Research · americandefault.org/affordability/electricity/
Download data (CSV)

A break in the line marks a period without a published value.

Compare places on a map

Bill per account · May 2026 dollars by state

August 2026 · dollars per account per month; constant 2026-09 dollars

$119–$149$150–$176$177–$207$207–$228$235–$271

Bill per account · May 2026 dollars · August 2026

Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration; U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics CPI-U (American Default Research calculation) American Default Research · americandefault.org/affordability/electricity/

Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration; U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics CPI-U (American Default Research calculation)

Download every state, metro area and county, ranked (CSV)

Available history

Bill per account · May 2026 dollars
Data periodUnited States (dollars)
Aug 2026210.59
Jul 2026214.67
Jun 2026172.57
May 2026136.66
Apr 2026129.39
Mar 2026141.92
Feb 2026160.93
Jan 2026180.26
Dec 2025157.60
Nov 2025128.77
Sep 2025163.13
Aug 2025195.92
Jul 2025211.01
Jun 2025172.04
May 2025132.64
Apr 2025122.16
Mar 2025135.90
Feb 2025153.66
Jan 2025177.63
Dec 2024149.87
Nov 2024123.48
Oct 2024133.98
Sep 2024159.87
Aug 2024196.96
Jul 2024204.60
Jun 2024171.20
May 2024132.47
Apr 2024120.15
Mar 2024128.67
Feb 2024141.57
Jan 2024167.25
Dec 2023143.19
Nov 2023127.14
Oct 2023131.13
Sep 2023167.20
Aug 2023198.67
Jul 2023198.10
Jun 2023152.62
May 2023126.93
Apr 2023122.58
Mar 2023139.55
Feb 2023142.63
Jan 2023162.13
Dec 2022157.00
Nov 2022128.75
Oct 2022128.35
Sep 2022169.39
Aug 2022205.58
Jul 2022205.43
Jun 2022169.74
May 2022135.47
Apr 2022118.90
Mar 2022133.88
Feb 2022147.01
Jan 2022164.45
Dec 2021138.41
Nov 2021123.43
Oct 2021128.37
Sep 2021163.90
Aug 2021195.06
Jul 2021190.49
Jun 2021163.69
May 2021127.38
Apr 2021117.72
Mar 2021138.60
Feb 2021154.33
Jan 2021160.93
Dec 2020154.20
Nov 2020125.04
Oct 2020135.57
Sep 2020162.69
Aug 2020199.76
Jul 2020209.00
Jun 2020166.38
May 2020133.62
Apr 2020124.68
Mar 2020129.91
Feb 2020137.87
Jan 2020151.63
Dec 2019146.54
Nov 2019128.60
Oct 2019132.80
Sep 2019167.86
Aug 2019193.25
Jul 2019197.80
Jun 2019156.14
May 2019129.93
Apr 2019116.96
Mar 2019141.45
Feb 2019147.67
Jan 2019164.11
Dec 2018151.43
Nov 2018132.87
Oct 2018136.15
Sep 2018167.20
Aug 2018202.30
Jul 2018201.54
Jun 2018169.27
May 2018136.22
Apr 2018123.80
Mar 2018139.98
Feb 2018145.64
Jan 2018184.44
Dec 2017154.61
Nov 2017129.99
Oct 2017134.84
Sep 2017162.48
Aug 2017192.62
Jul 2017203.98
Jun 2017167.63
May 2017133.53
Apr 2017120.45
Mar 2017137.93
Feb 2017135.38
Jan 2017165.06
Dec 2016155.88
Nov 2016125.77
Oct 2016133.99
Sep 2016176.74
Aug 2016214.55
Jul 2016209.15
Jun 2016169.99
May 2016129.11
Apr 2016118.30
Mar 2016135.44
Feb 2016153.29
Jan 2016170.51
Dec 2015148.73
Nov 2015128.26
Oct 2015137.17
Sep 2015178.05
Aug 2015203.25
Jul 2015204.94
Jun 2015169.34
May 2015134.73
Apr 2015125.00
Mar 2015158.58
Feb 2015168.75
Jan 2015184.82
Dec 2014161.46
Nov 2014136.98
Oct 2014135.08
Sep 2014171.96
Aug 2014194.52
Jul 2014196.87
Jun 2014169.11
May 2014135.95
Apr 2014125.94
Mar 2014155.32
Feb 2014171.40
Jan 2014190.55
Dec 2013168.42
Nov 2013133.38
Oct 2013136.80
Sep 2013171.34
Aug 2013194.41
Jul 2013205.33
Jun 2013167.65
May 2013133.71
Apr 2013130.33
Mar 2013147.58
Feb 2013149.62
Jan 2013171.78
Dec 2012152.29
Nov 2012130.88
Oct 2012132.83
Sep 2012168.23
Aug 2012206.57
Jul 2012215.34
Jun 2012172.23
May 2012138.47
Apr 2012121.67
Mar 2012134.60
Feb 2012145.06
Jan 2012167.89
Dec 2011155.05
Nov 2011128.77
Oct 2011134.37
Sep 2011175.36
Aug 2011218.09
Jul 2011221.28
Jun 2011178.45
May 2011138.32
Apr 2011130.47
Mar 2011144.06
Feb 2011160.64
Jan 2011191.32
Dec 2010173.57
Nov 2010131.76
Oct 2010139.72
Sep 2010182.04
Aug 2010226.95
Jul 2010228.36
Jun 2010187.05
May 2010139.47
Apr 2010126.83
Mar 2010152.77
Feb 2010165.81
Jan 2010191.57
Dec 2009166.12
Nov 2009129.72
Oct 2009142.09
Sep 2009171.42
Aug 2009205.77
Jul 2009203.38
Jun 2009168.75
May 2009140.46
Apr 2009132.87
Mar 2009151.88
Feb 2009163.35
Jan 2009190.05
Dec 2008172.03
Nov 2008138.47
Oct 2008140.16
Sep 2008171.49
Aug 2008205.53
Jul 2008212.01
Jun 2008176.74
May 2008131.64
Apr 2008126.87
Mar 2008141.28
Feb 2008152.85
Jan 2008171.37
Dec 2007187.14
Nov 2007158.96
Oct 2007174.49
Sep 2007222.57
Aug 2007260.75
Jul 2007242.55
Jun 2007205.74
May 2007164.05
Apr 2007152.92
Mar 2007172.73
Feb 2007194.13
Jan 2007203.02
Dec 2006Not reported
Nov 2006Not reported
Oct 2006Not reported
Sep 2006Not reported
Aug 2006Not reported
Jul 2006Not reported
Jun 2006Not reported
May 2006Not reported
Apr 2006Not reported
Mar 2006Not reported
Feb 2006Not reported
Jan 2006Not reported
Dec 2005Not reported
Nov 2005Not reported
Oct 2005Not reported
Sep 2005Not reported
Aug 2005Not reported
Jul 2005Not reported
Jun 2005Not reported
May 2005Not reported
Apr 2005Not reported
Mar 2005Not reported
Feb 2005Not reported
Jan 2005Not reported
Dec 2004Not reported
Nov 2004Not reported
Oct 2004Not reported
Sep 2004Not reported
Aug 2004Not reported
Jul 2004Not reported
Jun 2004Not reported
May 2004Not reported
Apr 2004Not reported
Mar 2004Not reported
Feb 2004Not reported
Jan 2004Not reported
Dec 2003Not reported
Nov 2003Not reported
Oct 2003Not reported
Sep 2003Not reported
Aug 2003Not reported
Jul 2003Not reported
Jun 2003Not reported
May 2003Not reported
Apr 2003Not reported
Mar 2003Not reported
Feb 2003Not reported
Jan 2003Not reported
Dec 2002Not reported
Nov 2002Not reported
Oct 2002Not reported
Sep 2002Not reported
Aug 2002Not reported
Jul 2002Not reported
Jun 2002Not reported
May 2002Not reported
Apr 2002Not reported
Mar 2002Not reported
Feb 2002Not reported
Jan 2002Not reported
Dec 2001Not reported
Nov 2001Not reported
Oct 2001Not reported
Sep 2001Not reported
Aug 2001Not reported
Jul 2001Not reported
Jun 2001Not reported
May 2001Not reported
Apr 2001Not reported
Mar 2001Not reported
Feb 2001Not reported
Jan 2001Not reported
Dec 2000Not reported
Nov 2000Not reported
Oct 2000Not reported
Sep 2000Not reported
Aug 2000Not reported
Jul 2000Not reported
Jun 2000Not reported
May 2000Not reported
Apr 2000Not reported
Mar 2000Not reported
Feb 2000Not reported
Jan 2000Not reported
Dec 1999Not reported
Nov 1999Not reported
Oct 1999Not reported
Sep 1999Not reported
Aug 1999Not reported
Jul 1999Not reported
Jun 1999Not reported
May 1999Not reported
Apr 1999Not reported
Mar 1999Not reported
Feb 1999Not reported
Jan 1999Not reported
Dec 1998Not reported
Nov 1998Not reported
Oct 1998Not reported
Sep 1998Not reported
Aug 1998Not reported
Jul 1998Not reported
Jun 1998Not reported
May 1998Not reported
Apr 1998Not reported
Mar 1998Not reported
Feb 1998Not reported
Jan 1998Not reported
Dec 1997Not reported
Nov 1997Not reported
Oct 1997Not reported
Sep 1997Not reported
Aug 1997Not reported
Jul 1997Not reported
Jun 1997Not reported
May 1997Not reported
Apr 1997Not reported
Mar 1997Not reported
Feb 1997Not reported
Jan 1997Not reported
Dec 1996Not reported
Nov 1996Not reported
Oct 1996Not reported
Sep 1996Not reported
Aug 1996Not reported
Jul 1996Not reported
Jun 1996Not reported
May 1996Not reported
Apr 1996Not reported
Mar 1996Not reported
Feb 1996Not reported
Jan 1996Not reported
Dec 1995Not reported
Nov 1995Not reported
Oct 1995Not reported
Sep 1995Not reported
Aug 1995Not reported
Jul 1995Not reported
Jun 1995Not reported
May 1995Not reported
Apr 1995Not reported
Mar 1995Not reported
Feb 1995Not reported
Jan 1995Not reported
Dec 1994Not reported
Nov 1994Not reported
Oct 1994Not reported
Sep 1994Not reported
Aug 1994Not reported
Jul 1994Not reported
Jun 1994Not reported
May 1994Not reported
Apr 1994Not reported
Mar 1994Not reported
Feb 1994Not reported
Jan 1994Not reported
Dec 1993Not reported
Nov 1993Not reported
Oct 1993Not reported
Sep 1993Not reported
Aug 1993Not reported
Jul 1993Not reported
Jun 1993Not reported
May 1993Not reported
Apr 1993Not reported
Mar 1993Not reported
Feb 1993Not reported
Jan 1993Not reported
Dec 1992Not reported
Nov 1992Not reported
Oct 1992Not reported
Sep 1992Not reported
Aug 1992Not reported
Jul 1992Not reported
Jun 1992Not reported
May 1992Not reported
Apr 1992Not reported
Mar 1992Not reported
Feb 1992Not reported
Jan 1992Not reported
Dec 1991Not reported
Nov 1991Not reported
Oct 1991Not reported
Sep 1991Not reported
Aug 1991Not reported
Jul 1991Not reported
Jun 1991Not reported
May 1991Not reported
Apr 1991Not reported
Mar 1991Not reported
Feb 1991Not reported
Jan 1991Not reported
Dec 1990Not reported
Nov 1990Not reported
Oct 1990Not reported
Sep 1990Not reported
Aug 1990Not reported
Jul 1990Not reported
Jun 1990Not reported
May 1990Not reported
Apr 1990Not reported
Mar 1990Not reported
Feb 1990Not reported
Jan 1990Not reported

Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration; U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics CPI-U (American Default Research calculation)Download data (CSV)

Sources and method

U.S. Energy Information Administration; U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics CPI-U (American Default Research calculation) supplies the figures shown.

EIA reports residential electricity prices per kilowatt-hour. Average bills also reflect electricity use. Customer accounts are not necessarily unique households. The U.S. price is calculated from summed residential revenue divided by summed sales, converted to cents per kWh. The U.S. bill uses summed revenue divided by summed customer accounts.

About these figures

Electricity prices vary by state; utility accounts are not a count of unique households.

Place comparisons use the same data period. An older common period is named beside the comparison. A missing or withheld value is never changed to zero.

Monthly values are adjusted to May 2026 dollars with national all-items CPI-U, seasonally adjusted. National CPI is not local inflation. Later nominal data remain available under Other measures and history.

The CSV includes the original source notes, annotations and estimate margins where supplied. Original source data remain subject to their publishers’ terms.

We write with AI tools. Every figure comes from the data and sources named on this page, and automated checks compare it with them before it's published.