Household Affordability Tracker

See how household costs, income and financial strain vary across the country.

Refine this comparison

Alabama Average monthly Marketplace premium before tax credits

$743

per month 2026

Data from Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Marketplace Open Enrollment Period Public Use Files

United States in 2026

$741

Change, 2025 to 2026

+$94.00 (+14.48%)

Changes over time

Average monthly Marketplace premium before tax credits in Alabama rose 14.48% from 2025

per month · 2021 to 2026

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Marketplace Open Enrollment Period Public Use Files American Default Research · americandefault.org/affordability/
Download data (CSV)
Compare places on a map

Average monthly Marketplace premium before tax credits by state

2026 · per month

$509–$639$649–$724$727–$759$777–$816$816–$1,314

Average monthly Marketplace premium before tax credits · 2026

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Marketplace Open Enrollment Period Public Use Files American Default Research · americandefault.org/affordability/

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Marketplace Open Enrollment Period Public Use Files

Download every state, metro area and county, ranked (CSV)

Available history

Average monthly Marketplace premium before tax credits
Data periodAlabama (dollars)United States (dollars)
2026743741
2025649619
2024706605
2023743605
2022765Not reported
2021729Not reported

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Marketplace Open Enrollment Period Public Use FilesDownload data (CSV)

Try a hypothetical home purchase

See the principal and interest payment for a price and loan assumptions you choose.

Excludes property tax, homeowners insurance, HOA fees and mortgage insurance (PMI). This is not a complete housing bill.

Starting rate: Freddie Mac, Primary Mortgage Market Survey, 7.32% for the week of 2026-10-22. The inputs are editable assumptions, not a loan offer.

Sources and method

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Marketplace Open Enrollment Period Public Use Files supplies the figures shown.

The selected source’s unit, population and data period determine what the figure describes. The measures are not added into a total household budget.

About these figures

Averages cover people who picked a plan during open enrollment. They are not the price of a particular plan, and they differ from what workers pay for job-based coverage.

Place comparisons use the same data period. An older common period is named beside the comparison. A missing or withheld value is never changed to zero.

The CSV includes the original source notes, annotations and estimate margins where supplied. Original source data remain subject to their publishers’ terms.

We write with AI tools. Every figure comes from the data and sources named on this page, and automated checks compare it with them before it's published.